Eastendhomearts's Blog

Knitting, Crocheting and comments about life

15 days and counting till Christmas! Pastries and Prosecco!

As an avid crafter and baker every holiday season I am on the lookout for the best books and gadgets. This season is no exception. What a great year to be a foodie. My cookbook collection has over 50 cookbooks 10 or so signed by the authors (Bobby Flay, Masaharu Morimoto, Giada DeLaurentis, Lidia Bastianich, Michael Simon, Duff Goldman, Paula Deen, The Deen Brothers, Ellie Krieger and more).
This past Wednesday at Book Revue in Huntington NY I added another great one to my collection… Mr. John Baricelli, host of Everyday Baking, a regular to the Martha Stewart Show and owner of So No Baking Company in South Norwalk, CT. This was an amazing signing. It was a small and intimate gathering. John is a Long Islander hailing from Valley Stream, NY. He was joined by many of his friends and family as well as some clergy from the school he attended. The best part of it all is that we got to taste amazing pastries that were in his book oh yeah and he also brought prosecco! Delish! I tried to taste one of everything but I became fixated on the lemon meringue tarts. I even brought one home for my husband because lemon meringue is his absolute favorite. I also tasted the fruit tart, opera cake(which will be featured in his next book) and a chocolate covered macaroon.
John shared that baking and catering is a tough business but in the end its more a labor of love then for profit. He also said that he just signed on for another book that will be due out by Mothers Day 2012.
John shared his humble start with us and how he met Martha Stewart. He states that he was doing what he loved when she tasted his amazing creations and then he found himself having coffee and ice cream discussing business with Martha Stewart in his bakery. So you never know!!! Maybe one day that will be me or you !

So my top 5 must have cookbooks for this season are…..
1) The SoNo Baking Company Cook book by John Baricelli
2) Momofuku- David Chang (owner of the award wining Momufuku restaurant in the city… on my Christmas wish list)
3)Barefoot Contessa Made Easy- Ina Garten
4)Lidia Cooks from the Heart of Italy – Lidia Bastianich
5) Nona Tell me a Story- Lidia Bastianich

So to all my foodies out there. Here are your holiday must haves. And if you are going to a cookie exchange or two in my case… You MUST check out John Baricelli’s new book !!!!!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

